FLDOE and General Civic Education Resources

The documents below provide information on the Justice Sandra Day O’Connor Civics Education Act and its implementation. Information is updated as it becomes available.

K-12 Next Generation Sunshine State Standards in Social Studies Instructional standards and benchmarks for all social studies, including civics, is available for download. dot
The Act A complete copy of the Justice Sandra Day O’Connor Civics Education Act is available for download. pdf
Other Instructional Requirements Statutory descriptions of other civics-related instructional requirements are available for download. doc
FLDOE Guidance on Civics-ELA Integration The Florida Department of Education Memorandum on Civics Education Content in K-12 English Language Arts Curriculum is available for download. pdf
The Department’s advice on ELA benchmarks into which civics content might be integrated is available for download. pdf
Civics Test Item Specifications Civics test item specifications, benchmark clarifications and sample assessment items from the Florida Department of Education is available for download. pdf
2013-2014 Civics End-of-Course Assessment Fact Sheet Civics End-of-Course Assessment testing dates and logistics from the Florida Department of Education is available for download. pdf
End of Course Testing The most recent test development update, prepared by Dr. Randy Felton of the Department’s Text Development Center is available for download. pdf

Resources for Civics Teachers

Citizenship: Duties Rights and Liberties The Annette Strauss Institute http://communication.utexas.edu/strauss/
American Rhetoric http://www.americanrhetoric.com
Bill of Rights Institute http://www.billofrightsinstitute.org
Campaign for the Civic Mission of Schools http://civicmissionofschools.org
Center for Civic Education www.civiced.org
The Choices Program http://www.choices.edu
CIRCLE The Center for Information & Research on Civic Learning and Engagement www.civicyouth.org
Constitutional Rights Foundation www.crf-usa.org
Constitutional Rights Foundation Chicago www.crfc.org
Deliberating in a Democracy www.deliberating.org
Do Something http://www.dosomething.org
The Five Freedoms Project http://www.fivefreedoms.org
Free the Children www.FreeTheChildren.com
Generation Citizen http://generationcitizen.org
George Washington’s Mount Vernon Estate & Gardens www.mountvernon.org
Giraffe Heroes Project www.giraffe.org
Learning to Give http://learningtogive.org
Peace Jam www.peacejam.org
Project Vote Smart www.votesmart.org
Puget Soundoff http://pugetsoundoff.org
State & Local Government The Florida Constitution http://www.leg.state.fl.us/
The Florida League of Cities, Inc. http://www.floridaleagueofcities.com
Florida Supreme Court www.floridasupremecourt.org
Office of the Governor http://www.flgov.com/
Online Sunshine http://www.leg.state.fl.us/
Online Sunshine for Kids http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Kids/
State of Florida www.myflorida.com
Foundations of American Government Bill of Rights Institute http://www.billofrightsinsitute.org
Center for Civic Education www.civiced.org
Center for the Teaching of American History http://ctah.binghamton.edu
Constitutional Rights Foundation www.crf-usa.org
Ease History www.easehistory.org
Historical Thinking Matters http://historicalthinkingmatters.org/
Library of Congress http://www.loc.gov/index.html
Make Your Case http://www.scholastic.com/browse/article.jsp?id=3752426
National Archives and Records Administration http://www.archives.gov
National Constitution Center http://constitutioncenter.org
National Endowment for the Humanities www.neh.gov
National Paralegal College, Freedom of Religion and the Establishment Clause http://nationalparalegal.edu/conLawCrimProc_Public/FreedomOfExpression/FreedomOfReligion&EstCl.asp
New Hampshire Bar Association http://www.nhbar.org
School House Rock http://movies.disney.com/schoolhouse-rock
Sunnylands Civics Games http://games.sunnylandsclassroom.org
Youth Leadership Initiative http://www.youthleadership.net/
Overview of the United States and its Federal Government The American Presidency Project www.presidency.ucsb.edu
American Public Media Budget Hero Game http://minnesota.publicradio.org/
Ben’s Guide to U.S. Government for Kids http://bensguide.gpo.gov/
The Center on Congress at Indiana University  http://www.centeroncongress.org/
Congress for Kids http://www.congressforkids.net/
Council for Economic Education www.councilforeconed.org
The Democracy Project http://www.ipa.udel.edu/democracy
Digital Vaults http://www.digitalvaults.org/#
Federal Reserve Kids Page www.federalreserve.gov/KIDS
Eisenhower Presidential Library & Museum http://www.eisenhower.archives.gov
Foundation for Teaching Economics http://www.fte.org/teachers/lessons/lessons.htm
Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library & Museum www.fdrlibrary.marist.edu
George Bush Presidential Library & Museum http://bushlibrary.tamu.edu
George W. Bush Presidential Library & Museum http://www.georgewbushlibrary.smu.edu/
Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library & Museum http://www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov/
Harry S. Truman Presidential Library & Museum http://www.trumanlibrary.org
Herbert Hoover Presidential Library & Museum http://hoover.archives.gov
iCivics http://icivics.org
Independence Park Institute http://www.nps.gov/inde/forteachers/index.htm
Jimmy Carter Library & Museum http://www.jimmycarterlibrary.gov
John F. Kennedy Presidential Library & Museum www.jfklibrary.org
Lyndon Baines Johnson Library & Museum http://www.lbjlibrary.org/
Landmark Supreme Court Cases www.landmarkcases.org
Money Instructor http://www.moneyinstructor.com
The National Archives www.archives.gov
National Council on Economic Education http://www.councilforeconed.org
National Geographic http://www.nationalgeographic.com
National Paralegal College, Freedom of Religion and the Establishment Clause http://nationalparalegal.edu/conLawCrimProc_Public/FreedomOfExpression/FreedomOfReligion&EstCl.asp
Nixon Presidential Library & Museum www.nixonlibrary.gov
The Online NewsHour http://www.pbs.org/newshour
Our Documents, 100 Milestone Documents http://www.ourdocuments.gov
Oyez www.oyez.org
Presidential Timeline www.presidentialtimeline.org
The Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation & Library http://www.reaganfoundation.org
William J. Clinton Presidential Library & Museum http://www.clintonlibrary.gov
Elections, Parties and Pressure Groups The Center on Congress at Indiana University http://www.centeroncongress.org
The Democracy Project http://pbskids.org/democracy/
The Democratic Party www.democrats.org
Fair Vote www.fairvote.org
Federal Election Commission http://www.fec.gov
Kids Voting USA www.kidsvotingusa.org
The Living Room Candidate http://www.livingroomcandidate.org
MyVoice National Student Mock Election http://nationalmockelection.org/
Newseum www.newseum.org
PBS NewsHour www.pbs.org/newshour
PBS Teachers http://www.pbs.org/teachers
Project Vote Smart www.votesmart.org
The Republican Party www.gop.com
Teaching Educators About Media Project http://www.edb.utexas.edu/resources/team/
Youth Leadership Initiative http://www.youthleadership.net
Global Affairs & Current Events BBC NewsRound http://news.bbc.co.uk/cbbcnews
Cable in the Classroom http://www.ciconline.org/home
C-SPAN Classroom www.c-spanclassroom.org
Civic Voices www.civicvoices.org
Facing History www.facinghistory.org
Foreign Policy Association http://www.fpa.org
Foreign Policy Research Institute www.fpri.org
Heifer International http://www.heifer.org
National Geographic http://www.nationalgeographic.com
Nation Master http://www.nationmaster.com
Newspapers in Education http://www.dispatchnie.com
New York Times Learning Network www.nytimes.com/learning
Oxfam International http://www.oxfam.org
PBS www.pbs.org
Taking It Global http://tigweb.org
TIME For Kids http://www.timeforkids.com/TFK
The UN Works for People and the Planet www.un.org/works
U.S. Global Health Policy http://www.globalhealthfacts.org
World Atlas www.worldatlas.com
World Food Programme http://www.wfp.org