The Florida Student Mock Election

Florida Student Mock Election 2016

What is the Florida Student Mock Election?

The Florida Student Mock Election provides an opportunity for all of Florida's K-12 students to learn about and practice voting as one of the most important responsibilities of democratic citizenship.

How can my school participate?

To become a part of the Florida Student Mock Election, schools can request an account by contacting KidsVoting Florida (KVFL) directly at KVFL@ucf.edu or by contacting their county's Supervisor of Elections. To see if a Supervisor of Elections is a KVFL partner, click here.

When requesting an account, you will need to provide the name and email address of one or more teachers or administrators at your school who will serve as BALLOT ADMINISTRATORSThe Ballot Administrator(s) for your school can create and edit ballots through the Kids Voting Election Administration website, DoubleClick Democracy. For the upcoming Student Mock Election, Ballot Administrators will be able to download a master ballot template and customize it to include congressional candidates or any other races (or school issues) that you may wish to include. Ballot Administrators can also create voter IDs for students (if desired), import results from paper ballots if you choose to use them, and view reports.. At least two Ballot Administrators are recommended at each school.

When will the 2018 Florida Student Mock Election be held?

Monday, September 10, 2018 through Tuesday November 6, 2018.

Schools may choose to have their students vote at any time during this period.

Results will be posted November 7, 2018

What can my students vote for?

A Ballot Template provided by KVFL will automatically include the contests for Governor and U.S. Senate. Ballot AdministratorsThe Ballot Administrator(s) for your school can create and edit ballots through the Kids Voting Election Administration website, DoubleClick Democracy. For the upcoming Student Mock Election, Ballot Administrators will be able to download a master ballot template and customize it to include congressional candidates or any other races (or school issues) that you may wish to include. Ballot Administrators can also create voter IDs for students (if desired), import results from paper ballots if you choose to use them, and view reports. can choose to add congressional, state and local races as well as school based student government contests and/or issue opinion polls.

How will students at my school vote?

Once a ballot has been created, Ballot Administrators will email a ballot link (automatically generated by DoubleClick Democracy) to all participating teachers in your school. They will also supply voter ids (if you have chosen to use them) or a school code and unlock code (if you have chosen to not use voter ids). Students will use a desktop computer, laptop, tablet or smartphone to login to DoubleClick Democracy. They will enter either their voter id or a school code and unlock code to access the ballot and cast their vote.

You may also choose to print paper ballots, count election results and have your Ballot Administrator upload vote totals to DoubleClick Democracy.

How will I see results?

School results are tabulated as votes are cast and can be viewed by Report Users and Ballot Administrators by logging in to their DoubleClick Democracy account. Statewide results will be posted by KVFL after all voting has been completed on November 7th.

Who are the KidsVoting partners?

The Florida Student Mock Election is provided through KidsVoting Florida (KVFL) in association with KidsVoting USA. KidsVoting Florida is a partnership of the Lou Frey Institute at the University of Central Florida, the Florida Joint Center for Citizenship, the Florida State Association of Supervisors of Elections, and the Florida Association of Social Studies Supervisors.

How can I learn to be a Ballot Administrator?

Can my school use DoubleClick Democracy for voting in other elections?

Ballot Administrators at your school can create ballots for any class or school wide elections that you may wish to hold in the future – such as class officers, student government, Homecoming, Senior Superlatives etc. You may use DoubleClick Democracy for voting at your school at any time and often as you wish.

Important 2018 Election Dates

Early Voting Primary Election August 18-25, 2018
Primary Election August 28, 2018
Florida Student Mock Election Begins September 4, 2018
Voter Registration Deadline for the General Election October 9, 2018
Early Voting General Election October 27-November 3, 2018
General Election November 6, 2018
Florida Student Mock Election Ends November 6, 2018

For more information regarding election dates, visit the Florida Department of State Election Website.

KidsVoting Florida Supervisors of Elections Partners

County Contact Name Email Phone
Alachua TJ Pyche, Director of Outreach tjpyche@alachuacounty.us 352.374.5252
Bradford Amanda Seyfang amanda_seyfang@bradfordcountyfl.gov 904.966.6266
Charlotte Paul A. Stamoulis, Supervisor of Elections SOE@charlottevotes.com 941.833.5400
Citrus Susan Gill, Supervisor of Elections vote@votecitrus.com 352.341.6750
Clay Thunder Nkere Outreach@ClayElections.com 904.269.6350
Collier Roger Munz, Director of Training Rogermunz@colliergov.net 239.252.8497
DeSoto Mark Negley mnegley@votedesoto.com 863.993.4871
Duval Robert Phillips, Chief Elections Offices Phillips@coj.net 904.630.8018
Escambia Brandi Ziglar, Outreach Coordinator bziglar@escambiavotes.com 850.595.3900
Flagler Kaiti Lenhart, Supervisor of Elections klenhart@flaglerelections.com 386.313.4170
Hendry Sherry Taylor, Deputy SOE sherry@hendryelections.org 863.675.5234
Hernando Shirley Anderson shirleyanderson@co.hernando.fl.us 352.754.4125
Hillsborough Gerri Kramer, Director of Operations gkramer@hcsoe.org 813.367.8827
Indian River Anne Kroh, Elections Specialist akroh@voteindianriver.com 772.226.3448
Levy Jordan Lindsey, Assistant SOE jordan@votelevy.com 352.486.5163
Madison Tommy Hardee thardee@votemadison.com 850.973.6507
Martin Debbie Dent, Chief Deputy SOE debbied@MartinVotes.com 772.288.5637
Nassau Lori Wilkinson lwilkinson@votenassau.com 904.491.7500
Okaloosa Paul Lux, Supervisor of Elections plux@co.okaloosa.fl.us 850.689.5600
Okeechobee Diane Hagan elections@voteokeechobee.com 863.763.4014
Orange Lucy Melendez lucy.melendez@ocfelections.com 407.836.2070
Osceola Mary Jane Arrington, Supervisor of Elections or Amber L. Smith maryjane@voteosceola.com or ambers@voteosceola.com 407.742.6000
Palm Beach Erin Lewandowski, Assistant Deputy Supervisor of Elections erinl@pbcelections.org 561.656.6264
Pasco Sonya Surratt, Election Administration Specialist ssurratt@pascovotes.com 352.521.4302
Pinellas Deborah Clark, Supervisor of Elections votered@votepinellas.com 727.464.8683
Polk Lori Smith, Education & Early Voting Coordinator lorismith@polkelections.com 863.534.5888
Putnam Charles L. Overturf III, Supervisor of Elections charles.overturf@putnam-fl.com 386.329.0224
Santa Rosa Tappie Villane, Supervisor of Elections Villane@santarosa.fl.gov 850.983.1900
St. Lucie John Spradlin, Systems Administrator john@slcelections.com 772.462.1117
Suwannee Glenda Williams, Supervisor of Elections gwilliams@suwanneevotes.com 386.362.2616
Taylor Dana Southerland, Supervisor of Elections taylorelections@gtcom.net 850.838.3515
Volusia Edda Rosado, Voter Education Training erosado@volusia.org 386.736.5930
Walton Ryan Messer, Voting Systems Coordinator mesryan@co.walton.fl.us 850.892.8112